The Booker Prize


The Booker Prize for Fiction

      The much-publicized Man Booker Prize, awarded annually since 1969 to the best full-length novel written  in the British Commonwealth published in the preceding 12 months, is one way of gauging the emerging canon of British fiction (click here to go to the official Man Booker website). But the politics of the selection process can get ugly. Beginning with Money, which was left off the shortlist in 1984, Amis's novels have consistently created Booker controversy.


Click here for articles and information on Yellow Dog and the Booker long list.


Click here for articles and information on Yellow Dog and the Booker shortlist.


Click here for comments by writer's on recent developments concerning the  Booker Prize.


Click here to read Martyn Goff and David Lodge on Booker politics, including the infighting over London Fields in 1989.


Click here to read an excerpt from The Independent on the 1991 shortlist, which included Time's Arrow.


Click here to read about the fight over shortlisting Time's Arrow.

To find out more about the Booker, including a list of winners and "short-lists" (including Time's Arrow), check out the links below:


Booker Prize winners--this Powells Book site contains brief descriptions and book jacket photos of Booker winners.


Booker Prize 1998 and History
This site contains information for 1998, when Ian McEwan's Amsterdam won the Booker, and for 1996-97.


List of Booker list and prizes through 1999.

bullet Recent Booker changes (2002).


horizontal rule

This site is featured in
BBC.gif (1270 bytes)
BBC Education Web Guide

Booker Changes
London Fields
T'sA & the Booker
Barbed Arrows


frontpag.gif (9866 bytes)


ie1.gif (14871 bytes)


Site maintained by James Diedrick, author of Understanding Martin Amis, 2nd edition (2004).
 All contents © 2004.
Last updated 10 December, 2004. Please read the Disclaimer



Home | Discussion Board  | Disclaimer Understanding Martin Amis  | James Diedrick  | Albion College